The Best Music to Write to 

I cannot write in silence. I get easily distracted when I write in a public place– which I prefer. 

There is nothing better to get down to work than putting my earbuds in and listening to some music which will inspire me to begin and keep me focused. Right now, I mainly use Spotify. 

Here are the best things to search for in each category. 

The Best Artists: 

Woodkid

Of Monsters and Men

Lindsey Stirling

The Decemberist

Arcade Fire

The Best Albums:

The Way by Zack Hemsey 

The Last of Us by Gustavo Santaolalla

The Lion’s Roar by First Aid Kit

Hector and the Search for Happiness by Dan Mangan

Ordinary Riches by Company of Thieves

The Best Playlists: 

Reading Soundtrack by Spotify

CriticalRole: Percy by geekandsundry

Fallout 4 Radio Soundtrack by César Muela 

Cinematic Chill-Out by Spotify

Tales from the Borderlands by Michelle Kusters

And mine. 

Of course, you can find all of these in my playlist I created specifically for you: Writing for Beginners 

In this playlist, you can find most of the songs I listen to while I write. It includes all these and more! I hope you love it and it is useful to you. Now, get out there and write! 

What about you? What is on your writing playlist? Let me know in the comments below! 

Did you like some of these suggestions, or even the playlist I created? Consider supporting me on my Patreon page– the easiest way for you to support me as a writer. Thank you to my Patrons who have already joined and supported me! 


Patreon Executive Producer: Cindy Horn

