Interview with Jazmin (Yes, That One), the Multipotentialite Linguist

Okay, so last time I did an interview, it was with myself. I told you last time that I wouldn’t be so self-indulgent as to interview myself again. This time I’m interviewing my wife. Totally different. Right? 

I’m happy with it because I got additional practice with interviewing and, now, I get to show off the amazing woman I married. 


B: Well, Jazmin, tell me about yourself (I realize we’re already married).

J: Well, I grew up in Kentuckiana, but I was born in Mexico City. I’m a passionate, curious person who really loves travel, languages, and literature.  I’m a teacher, interpreter, and blogger. 

(Links to Jazmin’s blogs below!)

B: How did you get from Mexico to Indiana? 

J: As if babies can decide their destinations? I was about six months old. My father is Mexican and my parents met while my mother was studying abroad. They got married and had me, but all the jobs were in the United States. 

B: How did you get into what you’re into now as a multipotentialite linguist? (note: I came up with this job description after. It was rambling beforehand). 

J: My family made sure to teach me about our family history and language. I always felt like we were speaking a secret language when we went out and spoke Spanish in Indiana, which almost exclusively speaks English. I loved this part of my identity. Working with languages and stories and education is all I’ve ever wanted to do. I love that exchange of ideas. 

B: What are you doing now? 

J: I’m currently teaching English in Spain through the Fulbright program– which also means I’m a cultural ambassador for the United States. 

B: What is the biggest challenge you’re facing now as your Fulbright winds down? 

J: One of the biggest challenges I’m facing right now is finding focus. A lot of people want you to pick one thing for your “life purpose”– but I’m a multipotentialite. I just feel like there are so many options. 

B: How are you dealing with that? 

J: Narrowing my top skills and job positions I think I would enjoy doing. I’m trying to combine as many of my passions as possible, but I realize that I’m young and have time. 

B: What is the next step? 

J: I’m going to Trinity College Dublin in the fall to begin a masters in Comparative Literature. I’m so excited to go back to school! 

B: What is the best thing going for you right now? 

J: I am incredibly grateful for my life. I’ve been extremely blessed and privileged. I had a great childhood. I have a lot of support from family and friends. Plus, I’m in SPAIN. I’m getting to live out my dream of traveling. 

B: Last question, what advice do you have for anyone facing the same challenges as you?  

J: You don’t have to have it all figured out in your twenties. I used to have a lot of anxiety about what I wanted to do with my life. Most young people don’t know and that’s ok. Older, wiser people than me say that 20s is a time to explore. 

Thanks to Jazmin for interviewing with me! Obviously, I am very invested in her success, but I wish her the best all the same. We’ll be checking back in with Jazmin after a year or so. 

If you want to see what Jazmin is up to, check out her blogs:

Thank you for reading! If you enjoy this blog, consider becoming one of my supporters on Patreon. My patrons there really do help immensely, no matter the amount. 

